A Los Siglos…

…is one way to greet friends here in Peru if you haven’t seen them in ages. And, seeing as I haven’t posted in forever, I figured that it was an appropriate title. Life in Lima has been great lately, minus last week’s sickness and the overcast winter skies. But even those have brought their blessings, such as the care and concern that Peruvian friends have shown in the midst of fever, congestion, and all-around nasal nastiness. Sadly, I missed one of the two sunny days that we had recently, but I was able to get outside to enjoy the beautiful blue skies and sunny weather that are such a rarity during these winter months.

It has been wonderful to have the Yoakums back in Peru and hear their stories from their furlough in the States. The Fletchers also just returned from a brief vacation to the States. I must say that I was slightly jealous of their tans and their stories from the land flowing with Dr. Pepper and barbeque sauce. But, I can’t complain too much for soon I too will be back in the land of free refills and super-sized meals. That’s right – I’M COMING HOME. For the first time since December 2009, I am heading back to the land of the free and the home of the brave! And I am pumped. If you are actually reading this post, there is a good chance that I will see you during those few weeks. How exciting it is to think about rekindling old relationships, as well as indulging in gastronomical delights that have been no more than dreams for over two years. Needless to say, I can hardly wait.

But until late August, I am still here in Peru. And that means Bible studies, prayer nights, a trip to the jungle to visit our Christian brother Luis, starting up small groups, looking for another apartment, getting to know our four new interns, saying goodbye to Brad (our most recent intern), last minute shopping, and various other random tasks. As ministry continues to move along, I am constantly reminded of our need for the power, direction, and wisdom of our heavenly Father. If you think about it, please lift up to work here in Lima in your prayers. For it is only by the grace of our Lord that we can do anything of note in this world. To Him be the glory!

5 responses to “A Los Siglos…

  1. yay! when exactly will you be in town? we’ll definitely have to try to see you are here. If you go visit Nick/Teresa’s new house, let me know and I’ll come see you there (we’re only about 15 minutes away)!

  2. We are so excited for you Mark. Those “gastronomical delights” will be one of the best parts of your return. K and L are going back for a short vacation, Greg and Kyle are going back in October. I empathize with that tinge of jealousy. Great to hear that you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

